Who am I?

Hello everyone, my name is Nathanael Boorsma. I am currently a Master’s student of Higher Education at University of Michigan’s School of Education. I am among the first in my family to attend college and now have a passion for helping others discover their best self!

File_000

My history began in 1995. I have 2 older brothers and 2 older sisters who are now all happily married. In 2000, we moved from inner city Grand Rapids, to Byron Center, a developing, small, rural town several miles south of the city. Our country home was where I was raised. I could not have asked for anything better. Following graduation from the shitshow (that is high school) in 2013, I decided to attend Grand Rapids Community College where I discovered a deep appreciation for learning. I excelled in my academics, insomuch that I was able to transfer to the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor in the Fall of 2015. I majored in Psychology, conducted 2+ years of educational research, joined a fraternity, and embraced the traditional college student experience. I graduated with the bicentennial class of 2017 and will continue my education at UM as a Master’s student in Higher Education. Following graduation, I hope to return to Grand Rapids to work (preferably) at a community college while exploring business opportunities on the side.

In my spare time, I enjoy spending time outdoors goofing around with friends. When possible, I enjoy going on nature adventures, boating with friends, going up to Silver Lake Sand Dunes, and driving ORV’s. When I am stuck indoors, you can find me browsing the internet, going to the gym, reading books, playing video games, or writing.

I wanted to start a blog mostly because I wanted a platform where I was encouraged to write down my thoughts, questions, feelings, and experiences. I am not a confrontational person, so do not expect bold, outlandish opinions from me. However, you can expect me to spark conversations on a huge range of topics. This was and is difficult for me to do in college, so I hope this blog gives me a safer platform to be speak from. I believe I bring an interesting personality to a web space saturated with established bloggers and writers. I hope my readers can identify with my curiosity and inquisitiveness and are inspired to ask more questions in order to learn, and ultimately to grow. Finally, I hope I can pass along some of the things I have learned along my journey, to others.

In a sentence, I hope my experiences, thoughts, and questions, inspire and challenge my readers to be more curious, think critically, and appreciate the process of learning and growing.

One thought on “Who am I?

  1. Pingback: Higher VS. “Alternative” Education – Beginnings | Work Boots and Books

Leave a Reply

